MyPressi Twist

7.2

Price

8.0/10

Espresso Quality

9.5/10

Coffee Maker Quality

6.7/10

Ease of Use

6.1/10

Cleaning Ease

8.5/10

Durability

4.7/10

Appearance

8.5/10

Brew Speed

3.5/10

Versatility

9.1/10

Pros

  • No electricity required
  • Easy to use
  • Easy to clean
  • Inexpensive
  • Pod-compatible
  • Portable
  • Makes REAL espresso

Cons

  • Heavy
  • Lots of parts
  • N2O cartridges only last for 4 shots
  • Takes lots of practice to pull a good shot

Drinking quality espresso from your hotel room is no longer a fantasy. With the Mypressi Twist handheld espresso maker, real espresso is literally at your fingertips, no matter where in the world you may be. All you need is coffee and boiling water to pull a great shot of espresso with the Twist. No electricity required.

I got my hands on the Mypressi Twist just about a month ago.

Update 11/22/15: The MyPressi Twist is no longer made. I couldn’t find any information as to why the company is gone, but I still think this is the best value espresso maker in existence. The best place to get ahold of one is on eBay, here is the link to the search results.

The Review

Since I own this espresso maker, the following review is going to not only be collated based on the Amazon reviews, but my personal review will also be factored into the final scores.

Easy to get started, but takes time to master

Anybody who has made espresso before knows that pulling a great shot takes time and patience. Unlike automatic espresso machines, semi-automatic and manual machines like the Mypressi Twist have a lot of variables that need to be controlled and tweaked. You have to have the right grind, water temperature, tamp, and dose, but assuming you are willing to work at these things, you should ultimately be able to achieve great results.

Pulling a shot out of the box is pretty quick and easy. What isn’t easy right off the bat is making a great shot, as you will see in the video below.

Three filter baskets for all grind purposes

If you don’t want to spend several hundred dollars on a solid burr grinder, there is no need to fret. The Twist comes with three filter baskets: the standard, pressurized, and pod basket. So far, I’ve had the best luck with the pressurized filter basket, which is made especially for those who can’t get a fine enough grind out of their grinder. I have to say, it works quite well and has yielded the best results so far.

The pod basket I found to be a bit more difficult to assemble, but it still produces a decent espresso. I’m not usually a fan of pod coffee, but it is the least messy of the three filter baskets which is a definite plus.

As for the regular basket, this is what you want to use if you can get a good enough grind. However, my experience so far has been awful. The espresso sprays unevenly out of the portafilter, and the taste has been pretty bad. Usually under-extracted from excessive channeling.

Bottom line: after some experimentation you should be able to pull a good espresso, a big part of it is just knowing which filter basket to use.

The pre-heating pain

Pre-heating the Twist is a pain. I understand that it’s necessary, but I still hate doing it. Basically, you have to pour boiling water into the water bowl (shower head) and let it sit for a minute before actually pouring the water for your shot. You also need to be pretty careful, as the metal gets extremely hot after being in contact with boiling water.

While this is a necessary step, it’s an extra one that I am not keen on. In fact, a few times I’ve run out of water in my kettle because of the pre-heating ritual. My own fault, I know.

The Ratings

OK, enough talk about pros and cons. Here is a breakdown of each category and its respective rating.

The Price

The Mypressi Twist hovers around $150. Many reviewers (myself included) feel that this is an incredible value. The reason for this is because you can pull a shot that is just as good as that of a $2,000 machine (assuming you control your variables correctly).

However, given the fact that one charger only lasts 4 shots, you will have to frequently buy N2O chargers which cost about .66 cents a pop on Amazon. This factors in at around .16 cents a shot, with coffee costs not included.

Score: 4 stars

The Espresso Quality

I haven’t had the greatest results up to this point, but I’m trusting the majority here. I’ve also seen many videos of great looking shots being pulled with the Mypressi. These videos literally make my mouth water.

The one thing that I think detracts from the espresso quality is the difficulty in keeping the Twist at a reasonable temperature. But this can still be controlled if you follow the proper pre-heating steps.

Score: 5 stars

The Espresso Maker Quality

It’s built very solidly. It is mostly comprised of metal parts, especially those that come into contact with the water. But hold your horses! There have been lots of defective units, especially when it comes to the trigger getting stuck. There have also been reported gas leaks.

Fortunately, the majority of reviewers who experienced problems reported great customer service and a willingness to replace defective units.

Score: 3.5 stars

Ease of Use

As I said earlier, it’s very easy to get your first shot going. However, like all manual espresso, there is a very steep learning curve when it comes to pulling a great shot. The Twist is just as unforgiving as other manual and semi-automatic machines.

Fortunately, the pod and pressurized filter baskets make things much easier for those with grind and tamping issues. Trust me, I’m one of them.

Score: 3 stars

Cleaning Ease

Very easy to disassemble and clean. The shower head is probably the most difficult piece to clean, but I usually just give it a quick rinse and wipe and the Twist is ready to go again.

Score: 5 stars

Durability

I’ve had no problems so far, but I can’t say the same for everyone. Like I mentioned earlier, lots of reported duds after short periods of time lead me to believe that this isn’t a perfect product from a durability standpoint.

It is comforting to know that the company has made great strides in improving the product over time though. They have already corrected some of the major issues in the first model.

Score: 3 stars

Appearance

I love the way it looks. It’s simple and elegant. It also takes up no counter space, which means that its lack of literal appearance is just as much of bonus to this category.

Score: 5 stars

Versatility

It’s portable. Plus it works well with pods and coarser grinds. In comparison to the only other handheld espresso maker on the market (the Handpresso – which only works with pods), it is the most versatile portable espresso maker in the world.

Score: 5 stars

Final Thoughts

I already own the Twist, but I’d buy another one in a heartbeat. It’s fun and has a ton of potential to make the best-tasting espresso you can get. All of this, plus the portability and electricity-free functionality make this that much more recommendable.

If you despise the idea of hands-on espresso making, this is not the espresso maker for you. It takes lots of practice. But if this sounds like a fun prospect, go for it. It’s a fun prospect to me.

Share Your Comments, Reviews, or Questions

While I collate reviews from all across the web when writing these coffee maker reviews, my opinion in the end is only one opinion. For this reason, I encourage you to share your own review as well as any comments, questions, or disagreements you may have.

One final note: if you found this coffee maker review helpful and are considering making a purchase, please share the credit by clicking the “buy on amazon” link above. I will get a small commission if you do this, and would totally appreciate it. If not, no problem whatsoever; thanks for reading!