Coffee Maker Review: Mr. Coffee BVMC-SJX33GT

Table of Contents

Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

$34.99
7.4

Price

8.6/10

Coffee Quality

5.8/10

Coffee Maker Quality

5.8/10

Ease of Use

9.0/10

Cleaning Ease

6.4/10

Durability

6.4/10

Appearance

8.6/10

Brew Speed

9.0/10

Versatility

7.2/10

Pros

  • Produces very hot coffee
  • Can be programmed to shut off on its own after two hours
  • Has a special "pause and serve" function that allows coffee to be served while being brewed
  • Efficient, reliable cleaning system
  • Filter basket is fine and easy to clean and use

Cons

  • May produce slightly plastic taste after prolonged use
  • Some customers have experienced minor water leakage
  • Coffeemaker may not shut off on its own beyond the 2 hour mark
  • May not be ideal for very large parties or group settings
  • Loud while brewing

Mr. Coffee BVMC-SJX33GT 12-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker is an outstanding, efficient coffeemaker that can be set to make up to twelve cups of piping hot coffee in a short amount of time. If you need a coffeemaker for the work place or for a meeting, Mr. Coffee is an excellent choice. If your current coffeemaker produces lukewarm coffee or requires multiple settings to turn off, warm coffee, and brew, then the SJX33GT 12-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker will be a welcome change.

The Review

Please note: Although I am reviewing this top rated coffee maker, I have no experience using it. Instead, I summarize all of the most helpful reviews on this coffee maker from around the web. I do my best to make the reviews completely unbiased, making sure to cover both the positives and negatives of every coffee maker I review. Visit the about page to learn more…or feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns you may have.

With a sophisticated, sleek design and numerous state-of-the-art features, the SJX33GT Programmable 12-Cup Coffee Maker is a coffee lover’s coffeemaker. The coffeemaker can be programmed to make one to twelve cups of coffee and its special thermal carafe ensures that coffee remains hot for a long period of time. Special features, such as the “pause and serve” setting, allow you to optimize your coffee for your particular needs. This is an excellent coffeemaker for hosting events and dinner parties.

The Ratings

It should be noted that this coffee maker was rated #2 by Consumer Reports in 2011 and recognized as one of the best overall products. It was also deemed to be a “best buy.” Still, I don’t consider Consumer Reports as much of a trusted source when it comes to coffee. So let’s break down the ratings for each category before jumping to any conclusions.

The Price

At around $40, this coffeemaker may be pricier than a French press, but its durability, reliability, and capacity to make up to twelve cups of coffee, makes it a wise and sound purchase for coffee lovers.

Score: 5 stars

The Coffee Maker Quality

The design and functionality is practical, reliable, and accessible. The programming functions are simple to use and are perfect for medium-sized groups.

Score: 3.5 Stars

The Coffee Quality

The coffee comes out  hot from this coffeemaker and stays hot whether you have the thermal carafe or the glass carafe. This is an excellent maker for people who love dark, strong roasts. Still, the plastic taste that many reviewers have alluded to is particularly disconcerting when it comes to the coffee’s overall quality. Additionally, it is unlikely that this machine brews coffee at an adequate temperature (between 195-205˚F)…but it’s worth testing.

Score: 3.5 stars

Ease of Use

The coffeemaker allows settings for a wide range of functions and maintains a pot of piping hot coffee for up to two hours. Once set, the coffeemaker functions with outstanding ease. While one would expect a programmable coffee maker to be more difficult to use, the BVMC-SJX33GT is idiot proof.

Score: 5 stars

Cleaning Ease

The removable filter and pristine glass carafe make it exceptionally easy to clean. But when it comes to carafe leaks and plastic-tasting coffee, I’d venture to say that cleaning becomes a little bit more difficult.

Score: 4 stars

Durability

The buttons and settings are designed with the latest programming technology and are built to last. In fact, my girlfriend’s parents have owned this coffee maker for years now, brewing thousands of pots of coffee. No issues so far, which is amazing for a $40 programmable coffee maker.

Score: 4.5 stars

Appearance

One plus of this coffeemaker is that its elegant design adds a dash of sophistication to the kitchen. Still, many of the plastic elements detract from a perfect score. For the price though, this a pretty good-looking coffeemaker.

Score: 4 stars

Brew Speed

It’s pretty quick. You will have a full pot of coffee in about 5-8 minutes. Many would find the brew speed moot though, as this coffee maker features the “brew pause,” which allow you to pour a cup before the brew cycle is complete.

Score: 4.5 stars

Versatility

With up to a twelve-cup capacity, the coffeemaker is great for long nights studying with a group, a book club meeting, or an evening with friends. The programmability, brew pause, charcoal filter, and auto shut-off make this coffee maker just about as versatile as it gets.

Score: 5 stars

Final Thoughts

Mr. Coffee BVMC-SJX33GT 12-Cup Programmable Coffeemaker makes a great purchase for coffee lovers looking for an affordable, durable machine to produce fresh, delicious, hot coffee for everyday use, parties, meetings, and more. It is a overall a wonderful device.

Share Your Comments, Reviews, or Questions

My opinion certainly isn’t the only one. If you have tried this coffeemaker, I encourage you to write a review, too, and to seek out other opinions, comments, questions, and thoughts.

One final note: if this coffee maker review has been useful to you helpful and you would like to buy it, please share the credit by clicking the “buy on Amazon” link above. I will earn a small commission (at no additional cost to you) if you do this, and would totally appreciate it. If not, no problem whatsoever!

Share:

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
  • What about electric percolators? Do they deliver a good cup of coffee? I never see them rated or discussed. Your thoughts, please.

    • Percolators in general are more susceptible to over-extraction (bitter coffee) because they re-brew coffee that has already been brewed. Whether it’s electric or manual doesn’t really matter too much.

      The most popular one I know of is the Presto.

  • Price

    9.4

    Coffee Quality

    9

    Coffee Maker Quality

    9

    Ease of Use

    8.3

    Cleaning Ease

    2

    Durability

    7

    Appearance

    10

    Brew Speed

    10

    Versatility

    8

    I have had this coffee maker since Christmas of last year. It had been very good up to this moment. The maker brewed quickly enough and more importantly, the coffee remained at a great temperature (not overly hot but hot enough to not burn your mouth). It just stopped working from one cup to another. I am not sure what it is but it is not brewing nor is the heat plate working, yet all the respective lights are on as usual. Needless to say, I am feeling a certain type of way about this. Its morning time and I just want another good cup of coffee but now I am pissed. I am not at home to find the receipt and wont be home until just before Christmas. More than likely I will not buy this or another Mr. Coffee maker again.

  • Price

    5

    Coffee Quality

    0.3

    Coffee Maker Quality

    0.2

    Ease of Use

    7.6

    Cleaning Ease

    7.7

    Durability

    0.6

    Appearance

    8.3

    Brew Speed

    8.1

    Versatility

    0.6

    This coffeemaker has been terrible from the start. I could never get rid of the strange taste of the coffee made in this coffee maker. At first I thought it was because it was new. No. I tried so many different coffees, I lost count! I wasted so much money buying coffee to see if the taste would improve. Then before it was 18 months old, it started to leak from the bottom! AgIn, at first I thought it was my fault….it continued and then it finally stopped working. So I got myself a new coffeemaker today, washed it, made coffee and it was delicious! Can’t believe I wasted time and money on this worthless appliance. Will never buy Mr. Coffee again.

  • Table of Contents

    On Key

    Related Posts

    >