Coffee Maker Review: Mr. Coffee BVMC-EL1 Cafe Latte

Table of Contents

Mr. Coffee BVMC-EL1

7.2

Price

8.0/10

Coffee Quality

4.0/10

Coffee Maker Quality

7.0/10

Ease of Use

10.0/10

Cleaning Ease

6.0/10

Durability

7.0/10

Appearance

8.0/10

Brew Speed

9.0/10

Versatility

6.0/10

Pros

  • Quiet
  • Easy to use
  • Inexpensive (when compared to your typical espresso machine)
  • Can make multiple drinks at once (up to 24 ounces)

Cons

  • Doesn't make real espresso
  • Doesn't brew more than 8oz of coffee
  • Doesn't produce real microfoam
  • Carafe cannot be submerged in water, making it difficult to clean
  • Can't make drip coffee by itself

Ah, the good ole’ latte. It has really taken America by storm in the last 20 years, especially since Starbucks entered the scene.  Problem with lattes though, is that they are expensive. Sure, $3-4 doesn’t sound like a lot, but 5 days a week for a year really adds up. In fact, I didn’t even have to write that out, because it’s probably the most cliché statement in the personal finance industry’s history.

Still, with lattes being as expensive as they are, people figure they could save lots of money by simply making them at home. But this is actually only true when you have a machine like Mr. Coffee’s BVMC-EL1, because most home espresso makers will cost you a lot of money.

So for that reason my friends, I will be reviewing the Mr. Coffee BVMC right here and right now.

The Review

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yz1UQ6ehwDU

After watching this coffee maker in action, it’s safe to say that this isn’t really a latte. It’s actually more like a café au lait if you want to get real technical. But it’s true selling point is the ease of use. Many people will not even be able to tell the difference between the “lattes” this produces and those that you can get at your average coffee shop.

Please note: Although I am reviewing this top rated coffee maker, I have no experience using it. Instead, I summarize all of the most helpful reviews on this coffee maker from around the web. I do my best to make the reviews completely unbiased, making sure to cover both the positives and negatives of every coffee maker I review. Visit the about page to learn more…or feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns you may have.

If you’re looking for a real latte, look elsewhere

If you have high latte standards, this probably isn’t the machine for you. It basically is a drip coffee maker with a fancy milk warmer. Sure, it will probably satisfy most peoples’ taste buds, especially considering the fact that you can adjust your coffee to milk ratio. But it still isn’t real espresso, nor is it real steamed/frothed milk.

There is a more affordable (but more manual) option

The Aerolatte Milk Frother (affiliate link) is actually the same mechanism that the Mr. Coffee Cafe Latte uses. And at the time of writing, it is under $20. You will still need espresso to accomodate it though, so if it were me, I would probably use an Aeropress (affiliate link) to produce my “espresso.” The reason I put it in quotes is because it isn’t real espresso (it’s missing out on the 9 bars of pressure), but it’s still a pretty close Americano (espresso with water). These two tools combined will run you under $50, and the Aeropress can be used for normal coffee making too.

To read my reviews of the Aeropress (that’s right, I wrote 2), click here.

Want real espresso? But for the fraction of the cost of a typical machine? Check out my review of the MyPressi Twist by clicking here. I think it would make a great companion to the Aerolatte mentioned above.

The Ratings

Here are my scores for each of the different rating categories of this coffee maker.

Price

I’m giving it a 4 because it is such a bargain when compared side by side with most latte makers. However, there is a cheaper option, and I already discussed it above. This is why I can’t rate it any higher than 4.

Score: 4 stars

Latte Quality

Sure, I haven’t actually tried it…so please take my low rating with a grain of salt. However, it doesn’t make a “real” latte. It uses coffee, not espresso, and the milk is aerated too much (according to one reviewer). Also, by watching the video I can tell that this simply isn’t steamed milk. Still, there are many rave reviews about the quality in this machine’s lattes, so I will let you decide who to believe.

Score: 2 stars

Coffee Maker Quality

Mr. Coffee coffee makers are not known for quality. They tend to be very cheaply made, and this one is no exception. Still, it isn’t horrendous. Plus, there weren’t an overwhelming number of people who reported malfunctions, which leads me to believe that its not all that bad.

Score: 3.5 stars

Ease of Use

If there were one single reason to buy this latte maker, it would be its extreme ease of use. Add coffee, add water, add milk, flip a switch and wait. This is as easy as it gets when it comes to making home lattes. No learning how to steam milk here.

Score: 5 stars

Cleaning Ease

Eek. You can’t put your carafe in the dishwasher or expose it to too much water, or it will get destroyed. You are also going to have to be pretty diligent about cleaning up quickly after every use, because the milk will be hard to clean off the carafe if you let it dry out.

Score: 3 stars

Durability

There were some reports of broken motors and such, but it was surprisingly low for what Mr. Coffee makers usually see. I think you are pretty safe as far as this machine’s durability goes, but there are certainly more reliable options out there as far as longevity.

Score: 3.5 stars

Appearance

Your standard black auto drip coffee maker. I’d give it a 4 for its looks.

Score: 4

Brew Speed

Taking a look at the video above, you can see that it can produce a full carafe in under 8 minutes. I think that’s pretty impressive.

Score: 4.5 stars

Versatility

It can make lots of drinks like hot chocolate and other flavored lattes. It even comes with a recipe booklet. What detracts from its versatility score, however, is its inability to just make coffee. Or say, a cappuccino. Right in the middle here.

Score: 3 stars

Final Thoughts

If convenience is your thing, and you aren’t looking to spend boatloads of cash, the Mr. Coffee Cafe Latte is definitely worth a gander.

Personally, I’d go the alternative route that I mentioned above, but I actually enjoy the coffee making ritual, so this might not be the best option for those who like to work a bit for their lattes (totally understandable).

Share Your Comments, Reviews, or Questions

While I collate reviews from all across the web when writing my own coffee maker reviews, my opinion in the end is only one opinion. For this reason, I encourage you to share your own review as well as any comments, questions, or disagreements you may have.

One final note: if you found this coffee maker review helpful and are considering making a purchase, please share the credit by clicking the “buy on Amazon” link above. I will get a small commission if you do this, and would totally appreciate it. If not, no problem whatsoever!

Share:

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest

Table of Contents

On Key

Related Posts

>