Coffee Maker Review: Lance Larkin BE 110 Brew Express

Table of Contents

Lance Larkin Brew Express

6.6

Price

3.9/10

Coffee Quality

5.8/10

Coffee Maker Quality

7.1/10

Ease of Use

7.3/10

Cleaning Ease

5.8/10

Durability

6.9/10

Appearance

8.5/10

Brew Speed

8.8/10

Versatility

5.0/10

Pros

  • It comes with an additional basket for hot tea
  • Built-in coffeemakers take up no space on your counter
  • This brewer comes with an adjustable cup selector
  • Features a Brew Pause/Pause and Serve (activated by an infrared sensor)
  • Programmable
  • Serving size selector
  • Double-walled thermal carafe

Cons

  • The price might scare away some consumers
  • Setup likely requires a contractor to install to waterline and build into wall
  • No built-in water filter

The Lance Larkin BE 110 Brew Express doesn’t just provide a great cup of coffee, it’s a built-in coffeemaker that can be recessed into your wall, and thanks to its design, which includes a tap that goes directly into your water supply, you’ll never have to pour any water again.

The Brew Express used to be SCAA Certified, but it has either a) expired/not been renewed or b) no longer meets the requirements for certification.

The Brew Express comes in two models:

-The built-in-to-your-wall version (what I’m reviewing here)

-The countertop version (less expensive option)

The Review

The BE 110 may sound incredible when taking a look at the features alone, but does this built-in coffeemaker live up to its promises? Let’s take a closer look.

Please note: Although I am reviewing this top rated coffee maker, I have no experience using it. Instead, I’ve summarized all of the most helpful reviews on this coffee maker from around the web. I do my best to make the reviews completely unbiased, making sure to cover both the positives and negatives of every coffee maker I review. Visit the about page to learn more…or feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns you may have.

Here are a few videos outlining some of the features of the Brew Express. Please note: the units shown in the video are older models of the Brew Express, so make sure you check the Amazon product page and the Brew Express website for the most accurate look at the machine.

SCAA Certified…once upon a time

While the BE 110 isn’t officially certified by the SCAA, the previous Brew Express model, the 112, was certified. I’m not sure if Lance Larkin is in the process of getting the current model tested by the SCAA, but in any case, there are very few auto drip coffeemakers for the home market that receive a certification from the Specialty Coffee Association of America (SCAA), so when a buyer sees this coveted certification, the coffeemaker deserves serious consideration.

A few of the things that have led to the BE 112’s SCAA certification: The brewing temperature staying between 195-205˚F, the coffee grounds are evenly saturated during the brew cycle, and brewing time is between 2-8 minutes.

Given its history with SCAA Certification, you can be pretty confident that the coffee this brewer produces tastes as good as it can get.

A Thermal Carafe keeps the coffee as hot as you need it

The carafe that comes with this coffee maker is made of steel, not only ensuring your coffee stays hot, but it’s also designed not to spill when you pour yourself a cup.

The Ratings

There are very few negatives with this coffee maker when you get down to brass tacks.

The Price

Admittedly with a price hovering around $400 around the web, plus whatever costs may be needed to build this into your wall and piping, the Brew Express coffeemaker isn’t a cheap option. Even so, the coffeemaker may well be worth it given all of the positives.

Score: 2 stars

The Coffee Maker Quality

This built-in coffeemaker is made mostly of stainless steel, and with its former SCAA certification and superior design, it’s truly worthy of a 5-star rating.

Score: 5 stars

The Coffee Quality

Out of the numerous reviews concerning this product, all of them have said the coffee tastes great. The former SCAA certification also ensures that at the very least, the coffee is being brewed correctly.

The one flaw however, is the control over water quality. Since this is hooked up directly to your water line, you will need to create your own kind of filtration system, which I wouldn’t trust myself with personally.

Score: 4 stars

Ease of Use

All you need to do is put your coffee in the basket, set the cup selector to what you need, and it’ll fill the water by itself, similar to many commercial coffee makers. Keep in mind that the installation will be very difficult if you try and do everything yourself, which is why the Brew Express won’t get a perfect score here.

Score: 3 stars

Cleaning Ease

The carafe is fairly easy to clean, and since most of the coffee maker is inside your wall, you won’t have to worry about excessive dust build-up or really cleaning anything but the front panel.

Score: 5 stars

Durability

The Lance Larkin Brew Express comes with a 1-year MFG limited warranty in case something should go wrong, though there are very few reviews that say anything ever has gone wrong up to this point. At the time of writing, the only complaint in regards to durability was that the brew settings will reset after a power outage.

Score: 5 stars

Appearance

Being a built-in coffee maker, the brewer’s appearance should blend in pretty well with most modern kitchens with stainless steel appliances. Even if your kitchen looks a little different, the small footprint contributes to this coffee maker’s great looks.

Score: 4.5 stars

Brew Speed

The hands-off nature of the Brew Express will save you a little bit of time during preparation.

Score: 5 stars

Versatility

This machine has an auto shut-off plus a brew pause feature for when you’re in a hurry. It’s also one of the few auto drip coffee makers out there that actually hooks up to your water line. This is a convenient feature (except when it comes time to descale the machine).

Score: 5 stars

Final Thoughts

The Lance Larkin BE 110 Brew Express Coffee Maker is not only easy to use, but if you add the prestigious SCAA certification of its previous model (the BE 112), its warranty, and the quality of its coffee, this coffee maker almost makes up for its hefty price tag.

The Brew Express may be for you if:

  • You want something that is hands-off and easy to use
  • You need something that can make a single cup if you’re in a hurry
  • You want something that takes up no space on your counter

The Brew Express is probably not for you if:

  • You’re looking for something that is less expensive
  • You don’t want to hire help for installation or tear off part of your wall for a coffeemaker
  • You prefer glass carafes over thermal carafes

Share Your Comments, Reviews, or Questions

My opinion certainly isn’t the only one. If you have tried this coffeemaker, I encourage you to write a review, too, and to seek out other opinions, comments, questions, and thoughts.

Share:

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
  • I own a Brew Express BE-110, the 10-cup in-wall unit. I agree with all the positives mentioned in this review. Mine was installed in the condominium we purchased, so I can’t speak to the ease of installation – or the complexity of it more to the point. I can say it makes great coffee! I’m amazed at how much time it saves (or how much time it feels like it saves) not to have to fill it with water. Most importantly, I need to have my unit serviced: 1) It’s very easy to remove from the wall – 2 philips-head screws; 2) the water supply is easy to disconnect without turning the water off at the source, due to the spring-loaded snap-together connection; 3) if I have to replace the unit, they still make the model I have, and I don’t have to buy the rough-in box, mounting plate, and other items I don’t need to replace; 4) the instruction manual includes not just a website but an old-fashioned phone number; and 5) I spoke with a service representative at BrewExpressDirect (repair site), and she was interested, helpful, informative, and encouraged me to send the unit for service rather than replace it immediately, so that I could save money! Imagine that. I should add that I’m not at all unhappy that the unit has to be serviced, due to the heavy use it gets. It’s already lasted longer than I would have expected.

  • I enjoy half pots of offee but when i make a single cup with the cone shape filter, the coffee does not taste as good, nor is it as hot.

    Are there adjustmemts to temperature by mode? I dont think the hot water completely perks the grounds in the single cup mode. Maybe some water travels around the filter rather than throught the coffee and filter. I am using Melita filters.

    • Price

      2.6

      Coffee Quality

      0.5

      Coffee Maker Quality

      0.8

      Ease of Use

      8

      Cleaning Ease

      0

      Durability

      0

      Appearance

      6

      Brew Speed

      7

      Versatility

      0

      I agree with Charles completely.
      I’ve gone through 2 units now. The first one stopped working a few months after I bought it. Admittedly the company did the right thing and replaced it. However, I’ve read other reviews where people have had the same issue…the maker just dies. So something is clearly wrong. In addition, it doesn’t brew a hot cup of coffee. The water is clearly not getting up to temp because I brew the same kind of coffee at home on a regular drip coffee maker and the flavor is delicious and robust. When I brew on my brew express at work, I ALWAYS have to microwave the cup of coffee (even RIGHT after it is brewed) before I drink it. This tells me that the water is never getting to temp and it’s not extracting the flavor from the coffee beans. What’s most frustrating is when I told this to the customer service at Brew Express, they made it seem as though the lack of hot temp is because we are brewing into an open cup with the one cup setting and so the air cools it down. This of course is absurd given the fact that the coffee is not hot from the second the brew cycle is done. It’s not like I let the coffee sit there after it’s brewed. The people who say this maker makes a great cup of coffee…..my only assumption is that they haven’t ever experienced what a great cup of coffee actually is so their standards are low. I would NOT recommend this system I’m sorry to say.

  • Price

    5

    Coffee Quality

    6.8

    Coffee Maker Quality

    7.5

    Ease of Use

    9.2

    Cleaning Ease

    3

    Durability

    7.5

    Appearance

    10

    Brew Speed

    8

    Versatility

    0

    Have had the countertop model for yrs and the coffee and ease of use was great for the first few yrs. However I’ve have to replace the thermal carafe & lid 2x because it no longer keeps it hot and cleaning gets harder. Cleaning & descaling unit is impossible due to design and after awhile it doesn’t brew a full pot due to build up. CS answer to this is to send it in for cleaning(?) and pay for service and shipping!

  • We love our coffee maker and no problems except the spray head broke. Can you please help me find one or a couple. Its model BE-112. IF we had known it was going to be discontinued we would have bought some. Thank you for your help.

    Sharon

    I’ve sent an email too, but not sure its a correct address. Deaf, so I can’t call.

  • Table of Contents

    On Key

    Related Posts

    >