KRUPS KM9008

7.9

Price

5.0/10

Coffee Quality

8.0/10

Coffee Maker Quality

7.0/10

Ease of Use

9.0/10

Cleaning Ease

8.0/10

Durability

6.0/10

Appearance

10.0/10

Brew Speed

8.0/10

Versatility

10.0/10

Pros

  • Easy to use
  • Programmable
  • Adjustable drip tray
  • Brew strength selector
  • Small or large cup size selector
  • Easy cleanup

Cons

  • Poor customer service
  • Some malfunctions
  • Basket filter is not great for optimal extraction
  • Pouring water into the reservoir is tricky
  • Advertised 12 cup capacity is more like 8 small cups

The Krups “Cup on Request” coffeemaker is one of the most feature-rich automatic drip machines out there. It’s most compelling feature however, is its ability to dispense a cup of coffee at the touch of a button. No more dribbly carafes spilling coffee all over your counter. This machine has the convenience of a single serve coffee maker, without the sub-par results in coffee quality.

The Review

Please note: Although I am reviewing this top rated coffee maker, I have no experience using it. Instead, I summarize all of the most helpful reviews on this coffee maker from around the web. I do my best to make the reviews completely unbiased, making sure to cover both the positives and negatives of every coffee maker I review. Visit the about page to learn more…or feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns you may have.

Complete list of features

This is something I haven’t done before, but I feel this is a worthy debut for this section given the seemingly endless number of features here:

  • Programmable: choose different brew times for weekdays and weekends
  • Brew Pause: dispense a cup before the brew cycle is complete
  • Coffee warmer: keeps your coffee warm for hours without burning it
  • Heat counter: tells you how long your coffee has been warming in the carafe
  • Cup size selector: choose a large cup, small cup, or manual pour for dispensing coffee
  • Adjustable drip tray: 3 different levels for different size cups/mugs
  • Brew strength selector: choose normal or strong coffee
  • Charcoal water filter
  • Removable (and concealable) stainless steel carafe
  • Automatic shut-off: after 4 hours

Phew! Hope I got everything here. If you own this machine and I missed something, please share in the comments!

The Ratings

OK, let’s talk ratings now. Pretty good scores across the board, but let’s break each category down one by one.

The Price

At $180 at the time of writing, this seems to be a decent price at best. Sure, there are a ton bells and whistles that Krups would probably argue as justification for the heavy price tag. I however, disagree. If you are paying for convenience, you can do better with many single serve coffee makers. If you are paying for coffee quality, you can do better with many simpler auto drip coffeemakers.

Score: 2.5 stars

Coffee Quality

One thing in particular caught my eye when reading the reviews for this machine: the coffee doesn’t saturate very well with the grounds given the standard filter basket. At least this is the opinion of a few of the negative reviewers. Otherwise, for the most part, comments on the coffee’s quality were above average.

Score: 4 stars

Coffee Maker Quality

Good, not great. There were certainly some malfunctions reported. I guess that the overwhelming number of features makes it more susceptible to malfunctions.

Score: 3.5 stars

Ease of Use

Very easy to use. The only thing that detracts from a 5 star score is the awkwardness of adding water to the reservoir. It is a pretty small pour space.

Score: 4.5 stars

Cleaning Ease

There were a few people that remarked on a somewhat cumbersome cleaning process, but they were in the minority.

Score: 4 stars

Durability

This coffee maker had its fair share of malfunctions amongst reviewers. In relative terms, this coffee maker does well in regards to durability, but given the reports of poor customer service and a 4-6 week repair period, it is definitely something I’d want to have the cleanest track record possible.

Score: 3 stars

Appearance

A very good looking coffee maker in my opinion.

Score: 5 stars

Brew Speed

At 7-10 minutes for a full pot, this is just above average as far as brew speeds go.

Score: 4 stars

Versatility

It does pretty much everything imaginable. How can I not give it 5 stars for versatility?

Score: 5 stars

In Summary

My overall rating of this machine is 4 stars. I think it’s a great option for people who like the convenience of having an easy to pour cup of coffee throughout the day without having to brew multiple pots. I think of this machine as the water cooler of coffee machines, just with a lot more features.

I do think the price is too high given its spotty reliability and somewhat average construction, but if you are after a lot of features the price may very well be justified.

Good luck with your decision!

Share Your Comments, Reviews, or Questions

While I collate reviews from all across the web when writing my own coffee maker reviews, my opinion in the end is only one opinion. For this reason, I encourage you to share your own review as well as any comments, questions, or disagreements you may have.

One final note: if you found this coffee maker review helpful and are considering making a purchase, please share the credit by clicking the “buy on Amazon” link above. I will get a small commission if you do this, and would totally appreciate it. If not, no problem whatsoever!