JavaPresse Pour Over

7.6

Price

8.0/10

Coffee Quality

7.0/10

Coffee Maker Quality

8.0/10

Ease of Use

10.0/10

Cleaning Ease

8.0/10

Durability

9.0/10

Appearance

10.0/10

Brew Speed

8.0/10

Versatility

0.0/10

Pros

  • No extra filters required
  • Beautiful design
  • Stainless steel construction
  • Full-bodied coffee

Cons

  • Shoddy construction at the base of the dripper
  • Must be cleaned immediately
  • Little bit pricey

It has been a while since I've published a new coffee maker review, but the wait is over!

Today, I'm taking a look at the JavaPresse Pour Over, a beautiful stainless steel pour over dripper that JavaPresse owner, Raj Jana, graciously sent me.

Full disclosure: I received this coffee maker from JavaPresse for free, in exchange for a potential review. My policy is to only publish reviews of products that I like and think my readers will like as well. I do my best to be as objective as possible when evaluating all products, regardless of whether they were free or not.

About JavaPresse

JavaPresse Pour Over

I don't know much about JavaPresse, but from my understanding, their products are geared towards coffee enthusiasts and available directly from their website and through Amazon.

Currently, they offer a manual burr grinder and the pour over brewer I'll be reviewing today.

From what I can tell, the JavaPresse pour over is simply a private-label pour over dripper, as there seems to be some very similar versions available on Amazon.

What Makes the JavaPresse Unique?

As far as pour over coffee makers go, the JavaPresse is somewhat unique in that it uses a permanent filter that's built-in to the body of the dripper itself.

This is desirable for two main reasons:

  1. You don't have to fuss around with additional filters.
  2. You can get more body from your pour over coffee, which is traditionally very clean.
    • Think of this like French Press and Pour Over had a baby.

The reason I said “somewhat unique” is because JavaPresse isn't the only company making a pour over dripper like this. However, I get the feeling that JavaPresse really cares about their customers through my communications with their owner and from what I see on their Amazon product page.

Ratings

JavaPresse

I'm gonna jump right into the ratings here, because I think this is a pretty straightforward coffee maker to review.

Price

Compared to some of the biggest names in the pour over scene, the JavaPresse is pretty comparable when you factor in the cost of filters.

I don't think too many people would quibble over the price when comparing it to alternative options, but I still would say that it's middle-of-the-road when you compare its price to other pour over coffee makers.

Score: 4

Coffee Quality

The quality of your coffee is of course, largely contingent on many variables outside of the brewing method itself. However, I do think the coffee the JavaPresse gives you is very comparable to what you would get out of a French Press or Moka Pot, but with a little bit less body.

The wood notes were consistently prevalent, no matter the grind or coffee that I used.

If you're into that sort of thing, you'll be impressed with the coffee. I personally prefer coffee that is a bit more finely filtered though.

Score: 3.5

Coffee Maker Quality

Stainless steel construction always bodes well when evaluating this rating category, and I thought the design of the JavaPresse was really cool.

You can see exactly where the coffee is exiting the brewer, whether it's the side of the cone filter or at the bottom (ideally). This could arguably help you focus on controlling your flow rate and pour pattern, for a more even extraction.

I did find some small openings at the bottom of the dripper that were the result of the cone being imprecisely latched around the bottom of the filter, but I think most people wouldn't think anything of this.

JavaPresse Pour Over Gap

I don't think it had any affect on the extraction, but it is still worth mentioning to those who suffer from OCD like me.

Score: 4

Ease of Use

It's very easy to get started with pour over coffee, but it can be difficult to master. This is true with the JavaPresse, just as it is true with other pour over drippers like the Chemex, Hario V60, and Kalita Wave.

It will take some practice to get your coffee dialed-in, but using the JavaPresse is relatively straightforward.

Score: 5

Cleaning Ease

One of the major benefits of the JavaPresse in my eyes is that it's an easier way to make French Press coffee without the pain-in-the-ass cleanup. I know it's nit-picky of me to call French Press cleanup a PITA, but personally, I hate scooping out used coffee grounds from the bottom of a French Press.

I can see why you would roll your eyes about this, but I think dumping a paper filter and giving my coffee maker a quick rinse is much easier than what you have to do with a French Press.

Anyways, the JavaPresse is slightly easier to clean since you aren't scooping the grounds from an awkward French Press base, but you still have to scoop out the grounds nonetheless.

JavaPresse also urges you to do this swiftly so there are no residual oils compromising the filter in the long run. Frankly, I like to put off cleanup until after my coffee, so this was a minor buzzkill for me.

Still, easy to clean in relative terms.

Score: 4

Durability

The metal is pretty thin, but the JavaPresse still feels like it should last a long time.

Tough to say how its performance would be affected in the long run by a not-so-prompt cleaning, but my guess is that this would be fixable with a little bit of coffee cleaning solution like Cafiza.

Score: 4.5

Appearance

The JavaPresse Pour Over is a fine-looking piece of coffee brewing equipment. It's also pretty fun to watch it in action.

Score: 5

Brew Speed

The JavaPresse's brew speed is largely determined by the grind size and pour itself, but 3-5 minutes is what should be targeted for a proper extraction.

Not as fast as an AeroPress, but comparable to a French Press and slightly faster than alternative pour over coffee makers given its use of a permanent filter instead of paper.

Score: 4

Versatility

Versatility can't really be rated in the pour over world, because pour over coffee makers are designed to be simple with no added bells and whistles.

Score: n/a

Is the JavaPresse Pour Over for you?

JP5

As far as permanent filter pour over coffee makers go, I don't see too many options out there that offer better value than the JavaPresse.

Frankly, most permanent pour over filters are over-priced and over-hyped. Of course, this is coming from somebody who prefers paper filtered coffee.

If the following describes your coffee personality, then I think the JavaPresse is a great choice:

  • You like full-bodied coffee, with minimal clean-up
  • You're not looking to make more than 1 cup of coffee at a time
  • You don't like using paper filters
  • You don't want plastic

If however, any of the following describes you, I'd look elsewhere:

  • You like “clean” coffee with little oil and/or coffee sludge
  • You are looking for the most-affordable pour over coffee maker
  • You are lazy and don't want to clean your coffee maker immediately

Overall, I think the JavaPresse is a nice option for those who are seeking pour over coffee makers that utilize permanent filters. Aside from this segment of the market though, I think there are better options.

You can add the JavaPresse Pour Overto your Amazon shopping cart by clicking the button below:

JavaPresse is also offering 15% off all purchases through their website by using code: BENJIC15 on their website.