Hario Mizudashi

7.8

Price

9.0/10

Coffee Quality

10.0/10

Coffee Maker Quality

10.0/10

Ease of Use

10.0/10

Cleaning Ease

9.0/10

Durability

5.0/10

Appearance

9.0/10

Brew Speed

2.0/10

Versatility

6.0/10

Pros

  • Excellent for iced coffee or hot coffee
  • Easy to clean, handwash only
  • Results in delicious, smooth coffee
  • Portable and small
  • Easy to use
  • Elegant, glass design
  • Permanent filter

Cons

  • Can only make a few cups of coffee per use
  • Fragile, delicate
  • Requires at least 8 hrs to brew coffee

The Hario Mizudashi Cold Brew Coffee Pot is an excellent, portable cold brew coffee maker. While the grounds need to steep in the coffee for a period of 9hrs to one full day, the result is a refreshing, bold, and richly textured cup of coffee. The Hario Mizudashi is a great way to make iced coffee for the summer months and functions a lot like a basic French press, for those who have not used a cold brew device before.

The Review

With summertime underway, there is no doubt that most coffee drinkers are looking to get their cold brew fix. The Hario Mizudashi is perhaps the best option out there for iced coffee, but let’s see why by looking at the pros and cons first.

Please note: Although I am reviewing this top rated coffee maker, I have no experience using it. Instead, I summarize all of the most helpful reviews on this coffee maker from around the web. I do my best to make the reviews completely unbiased, making sure to cover both the positives and negatives of every coffee maker I review. Visit the about page to learn more…or feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns you may have.

Superb coffee…in at least 8 hours

If you want a cup of iced coffee to begin your work day, you will have to remember to place your coffeemaker in the fridge over night. For those who make coffee spontaneously, this can be a bit of an inconvenience. For hot coffee, the brew time is much shorter as the coffeemaker produces hot coffee using one cup of hot (195-205F) water.

The Ratings

The Hario Mizudashi has very few downsides, which makes it one of the top rated cold brew coffee makers out there. Here’s how I rate it in each category:

The Price

At around $30, the Hario Mizudashi is a great investment for iced coffee lovers. The design is sophisticated and practical and the coffee is wonderfully smooth and delicious. Given that the price includes a permanent filter and the maker itself is easy for travel, I think it is reasonably priced.

Score: 4.5 stars

The Coffee Maker Quality

Made with Ultra Premium Hario glass and and elongated extra fine mesh filter, the coffee maker builds on the design of a traditional French press and improves on it. You will not find stray coffee grains with this maker and it is easy to determine how strong you would like your coffee with this design.

Score: 5 stars

The Coffee Quality

Many iced coffee lovers switch to the Hario Mizudashi because of the superb taste it brings out. Allowing coffee to steep overnight makes for a richer, less acidic brew. The coffee is just delicious.

Score: 5 stars

Ease of Use

The Hario Mizudashi is essentially a one-step wonder. Place the coffee at the top of the maker and pour fresh, cold water into the base. Then, let it sit.

Score: 5 stars

Cleaning Ease

Although the glass and design makes it too fragile for a dishwasher, the coffeemaker is easy to clean with a simple sponge. The fine mesh filter requires a little rinsing and scrubing, but the design allows for very easy cleaning.

Score: 4.5 stars

Durability

Given that the majority of the design is glass, durability is an issue. Bump the coffeemaker accidentally and it may break. Although it can be used for travel and is easy to take with you, the coffeemaker is a bit fragile. The plastic portions and filter are durable and long-lasting.

Score: 2.5 stars

Appearance

Gorgeous, chic design makes this coffeemaker eye-catching and appealing. Its long body allows it to be placed in a fridge with relative ease.

Score: 4.5 stars

Brew Speed

Brewing is primarily an overnight process if iced coffee is what you are after. The coffee must steep for at least 8 hours, though up to 24hrs can still work. This could be frustrating if you are making coffee for a larger group. Still, for iced coffee this isn’t an irregular brew time.

Score: 1 star

Versatility

There is only one way to make coffee with this simple device and that’s what makes it great. Fool-proof, exquisite coffee.

Score: 3 stars

Final Thoughts

If you are a writer or an individual who has a quiet, solitary morning routine in a warm climate, this is the ideal coffeemaker for you. Jumpstart your day with an outstanding cup of coffee and repeat. If you are looking for a machine with great versatility or that can produce larger quantities of coffee quickly, this is not the device for you.

Share Your Comments, Reviews, or Questions

My opinion certainly isn’t the only one. If you have tried this coffeemaker, I encourage you to write a review, too, and to seek out other opinions, comments, questions, and thoughts.

One final note: if this coffee maker review has been useful to you helpful and you would like to buy it, please share the credit by clicking the “buy on Amazon” link above. I will earn a small commission (at no additional cost to you) if you do this, and would totally appreciate it. If not, no problem whatsoever!