Coffee Maker Review: Hamilton Beach Single Serve Scoop

Table of Contents

Hamilton Beach Scoop

8.7

Price

9.5/10

Coffee Quality

7.8/10

Coffee Maker Quality

7.5/10

Ease of Use

9.7/10

Cleaning Ease

9.1/10

Durability

6.7/10

Appearance

9.5/10

Brew Speed

9.6/10

Versatility

8.6/10

Pros

  • Adjustable tray to fit different mug sizes
  • Easy to use
  • Easy to clean
  • Scoop doubles as filter for easy dosing
  • Coffee strength selector
  • Quiet

Cons

  • Plastic-tasting and weak coffee frequently reported
  • Filter doesn't do a great job at keeping sediment/coffee sludge out of your mug
  • Susceptible to overflowing coffee
  • Coffee splatters if the mug is too far under the brew head

When searching for a coffee maker, you may have asked yourself why there can’t be a single serve automatic coffeemaker that doesn’t use pods. I mean, it’s a pretty reasonable request isn’t it? Fresh coffee. One cup. Quick, easy, and automatic. At this day and age, it’s shocking to know how few machines actually do all of these things. Enter The Hamilton Beach Single Serve Scoop Coffee Maker.

Of all the coffee makers I’ve reviewed here at The Coffee Concierge, this is the first single serve automatic drip coffee maker that actually requires ground coffee and not pods/discs/capsules.

I can already hear all of the sighs of relief. Plus, the 900+ reviews on Amazon indicate that this is a coffeemaker that certainly meets a gaping need. Or does it? Let’s find out!

The Review

The Hamilton Beach Single Serve Scoop Coffeemaker is a sleek single serve brewer that features a stainless steel scoop that doubles as a doser and filter basket. Just scoop your coffee, insert it directly into the machine, and begin to brew. From here, the HB Scoop promises to deliver a hot cup of coffee in under 2 minutes. Sound too good to be true? Maybe.

Please note: Although I am reviewing this top rated coffee maker, I have no experience using it. Instead, I summarize all of the most helpful reviews on this coffee maker from around the web. I do my best to make the reviews completely unbiased, making sure to cover both the positives and negatives of every coffee maker I review. Visit the about page to learn more…or feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns you may have.

Weak coffee…is there a solution?

One of the most frequently cited issues with the HB Scoop is its inability to make a flavorful cup of coffee. Hundreds have reviewers have reported weak coffee and have accordingly left the machine with a 1-star review. However (and this is a BIG however), there is a solution. By merely using the back of a spoon to tamp down your coffee grinds in the scoop, your coffee will likely go from weak to great-tasting. Sure, it’s a design flaw that the hot water can’t properly steep the coffee grounds without tamping, but this is a solution that seems to be foolproof.

As versatile as a single serve brewer gets

This coffeemaker really stands out in the single serve market for its versatility. You can use whatever coffee you want, at whatever grind, with whatever coffee to water ratio. These are some of the key things that impact the way your coffee tastes, folks. Another major component is the water temperature, and the HB Scoop delivers in most of the reported cases. The SCAA recommends 195-205˚F water temperature, and most reviewers reported temperatures from 192-203˚F. Not bad. Especially when you compare it to the lukewarm results that are typical of Keurig machines.

Plastic-tasting coffee? Or is there a solution?

While there weren’t an overwhelming number of reviewers to report plastic-tasting coffee, there were definitely enough to catch my attention. But there seems to be a feasible solution, as long as you are willing to take the risk if you do get stuck with a unit that produces this plastic taste. Basically, you soak your filters/scoops in hot water for 15 minutes, and then run 2 dummy cycles (with no coffee) to clean everything out. Seems that some have already given this solution their stamp of approval. Question is: are you willing to risk it?

The Ratings

I think that’s plenty of information on the pros and cons. Let’s get into the actual ratings now.

The Price

At $59, this is almost a knock out punch in the single serve auto drip coffeemaker market. You will be spending $100 and up for any of the Scoop’s competitors, so this is a great price.

Score: 4.5 stars

The Coffee Quality

It’s really tough to rate this category. We know that hundreds of people have reported weak coffee, but of those hundreds, how many have tried the solution described above? I’m going to give this a score of 3, but if you take the time to tamp down your coffee and experiment with different grinds, you could be getting very close to 5 stars here.

Score: 3 stars

The Coffee Maker Quality

Not too many reports of broken or malfunctioning units, but you have to ask why Hamilton Beach didn’t design this coffeemaker to deal with this weak coffee issue. I mean, how could they have honestly missed this during their trial runs?

Score: 3 stars

Ease of Use

No issues here. Scoop your coffee, insert into the brew head slot…and away we go.

Score: 5 stars

Cleaning Ease

Easy to take things apart and get where you need to when it comes to removing used coffee grounds and other potential grime.

Score: 5 stars

Durability

You can bet that it will last longer than your Keurig did. There were approximately 5 reviewers (of 900) who reported that their units stopped working after a few months time. I like those numbers, but it’s probably still too new to know how durable this coffeemaker really is.

Score: 4 stars

Appearance

I think it looks great. Lots of stainless steel. Compact. Tall and handsome.

Score: 5 stars

Brew Speed

You will have coffee in 2 minutes. That’s pretty much as fast as it gets. Still, that seems suspiciously quick for proper coffee extraction time.

Score: 5 stars

Versatility

As I said earlier, this is probably the most versatile coffeemaker of its class. Single serve coffeemakers simply don’t allow you to do as much as you should be able to do. The HB Scoop defies the status quo by eliminating the need for wasteful pods and cups of stale coffee.

Score: 4.5 stars

Final Thoughts

If you are in the market for a single serve coffeemaker, the Hamilton Beach Scoop deserves a very serious look. Aside from its flaws and quirks, it really stands out when being compared to the competition. If you like speedy brews, easy cleanup and operation, and beautiful design, this is a great coffee maker.

If you don’t like to grind your coffee or work with ground coffee to begin with, then this might not be right for you. It is also definitely not your best bet for the greatest tasting coffee at home, but I think you will get pretty good results as long as you use the right grind and don’t forget to tamp!

Have one? Let me know what you think!

Share Your Comments, Reviews, or Questions

While I collate reviews from all across the web when writing my own coffee maker reviews, my opinion in the end is only one opinion. For this reason, I encourage you to share your own review as well as any comments, questions, or disagreements you may have.

One final note: if you found this coffee maker review helpful and are considering making a purchase, please share the credit by clicking the “buy on amazon” link above. I will get a small commission if you do this, and would totally appreciate it. If not, no problem whatsoever!

Share:

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
  • I have used keurig’s for a total of 5 years and went thru 3 machines, and usedcoffee holder for your own grounds and have to tap down the coffee or it comes out weak,, the coffee does not stay hot, . I’m now using the Scoop and find it to be a much friendlier machine to use, the coffee stays hotter longer. there is a control to make your coffee bolder on the Scoop which intensifies the boldness and flavor. by far a better machine at half the price

  • Price

    9.9

    Coffee Quality

    9.7

    Coffee Maker Quality

    9

    Ease of Use

    9.5

    Cleaning Ease

    8.4

    Durability

    0

    Appearance

    9.3

    Brew Speed

    8.7

    Versatility

    8.8

    Good bye keurig that do not last and expensive. I tried this coffee maker and am hooked. Better tasting coffee, hotter,and almost as fast brewing. At about one third the price of keurig.

  • Price

    9.8

    Coffee Quality

    9.9

    Coffee Maker Quality

    7.8

    Ease of Use

    8.7

    Cleaning Ease

    6.4

    Durability

    6.4

    Appearance

    8.8

    Brew Speed

    8.8

    Versatility

    6.9

    We’ve been using “the scoop” coffee maker for years now and it’s by far the best single serve coffee maker we’ve tried. The little quirks are worth putting up with in order to get a freshly ground and brewed cup of coffee. No oils to be left behind in a paper filter and I love being able to make a custom cup of coffee. As long as you maintain it as directed it’ll last a long time.
    The quirks: No way to replace the rubber ring around the “showerhead”. I checked on Hamilton Beach’s site. Sometimes a little water doesn’t get brewed. The coffee grinds left behind on the “showerhead” are annoying. But as I stated above well worth dealing with. It’s ALL about the flavor of the coffee right?

  • Price

    10

    Coffee Quality

    9

    Coffee Maker Quality

    10

    Ease of Use

    10

    Cleaning Ease

    10

    Durability

    10

    Appearance

    9

    Brew Speed

    10

    Versatility

    8.6

    I’ve been using this coffee maker for about 4 years now. Yes, you end up with a little bit of coffee sludge in the bottom of the mug–but I don’t find that to impact the taste or texture of the coffee. I can enjoy coffee at a range of strengths, so if it comes out a little weak sometimes, I just don’t add anything to it and drink it black. It’s really easy to clean; I dump the grounds and rinse it out after each use, and about once a month, I pop the scoop and filter into the dishwasher to sanitize it. I use an automatic burr grinder to grind my beans, which I found improved my coffee quality immediately, and I vary the grind size based on the strength I want. I’ve never tried packing the coffee down, but I’m going to try that tomorrow to see what happens. I have never had problems with plastic taste, overflowing, or anything else. The only complaint I have is that the coffee does splatter a little, even in my tall travel mugs, so I have to wipe the counter every day–a small price for consistent and easy coffee. I like that I can set it up, press brew, and walk away to finish getting ready in the morning. I’ve even experimented with adding ground spices or brown sugar to the scoop to make flavored coffee, with some success. In 4 years, nothing has broken or needed to be replaced. I run a vinegar cycle followed by a few water cycles every so often to clean it out. It takes up very little space on my counter (it’s tall and slim).
    I bought a pod brewer to use in my classroom because I wanted the convenience of not having to clean anything out, but I just find myself wishing I’d bought another Scoop to use at work. The only thing this isn’t great for is replicating espresso-based drinks (duh). It’s perfect for my daily coffee on the go. I’m looking for something to use on weekends when I have time and want a fancy coffee drink without a trip to a cafe, but I won’t get rid of my Scoop.

  • I solved the residue problem. A paper filter or tapping grounds no improvement. I figured it needed a finer filter, and tried a swatch of tissue (Kleennex) in the middle mesh filter. No residue. Hooray. Pass it on. I paid 40 bucks at Amazon.

    • I use Melitta filters in my scoop to get rid of sludge, but I’ll try tamping coffee down so maybe it won’t be so weak!

  • I purchased this 05/2/2020 and I give it one star for all the reasons listed in the reviews. Weak coffee; not very hot; plastic taste and the lack of a removeable drip tray. Without hot water you will always get a weak tasting cup of coffee. I am not preheating my mug nor tamping down the grounds. My previous single serve maker of a different brand worked great. I did not have to jump through hoops to get hot cup of coffee. Finally the drip try is not removeable. So to wash it you unplug it, then take the entire unit to the sink for a rinse. Or you can use a clean towel several times a day and wipe it dry. I am returning it.

  • I purchased this coffee maker for an easy one cup. It was so poorly packed – felt as thou it was refurbished or some type of floor model. It’s drip was a joke, the coffee grinds spilled over the machine and my counter. I purchased this thru Amazon…took for ever to get this straightened out by Hamilton/Amazon. The main reason I purchased – I read many reviews and have owned other Hamilton beach products before. I Sent this back with a note to the attention to customer service. I never heard back. I WOULD NEVER ORDER AGAIN – HAMILTON BEACH IS OFF MY LIST. Not to get a note back from customer service is not the way to do business.

  • I replaced 10yr old Scoop with new Scoop and definitely have problem with weak coffee. What the heck did they do to it?!!! Old one worked fine- UGH!!

  • I was about to give up on this coffee maker because the coffee tasted so weak and flavorless and then read this review and saw the tip about ramping down the coffee. Can’t thank you enough! What a difference!

  • Table of Contents

    On Key

    Related Posts

    >