Hamilton Beach Scoop

8.7

Price

9.5/10

Coffee Quality

7.8/10

Coffee Maker Quality

7.5/10

Ease of Use

9.7/10

Cleaning Ease

9.1/10

Durability

6.7/10

Appearance

9.5/10

Brew Speed

9.6/10

Versatility

8.6/10

Pros

  • Adjustable tray to fit different mug sizes
  • Easy to use
  • Easy to clean
  • Scoop doubles as filter for easy dosing
  • Coffee strength selector
  • Quiet

Cons

  • Plastic-tasting and weak coffee frequently reported
  • Filter doesn't do a great job at keeping sediment/coffee sludge out of your mug
  • Susceptible to overflowing coffee
  • Coffee splatters if the mug is too far under the brew head

When searching for a coffee maker, you may have asked yourself why there can’t be a single serve automatic coffeemaker that doesn’t use pods. I mean, it’s a pretty reasonable request isn’t it? Fresh coffee. One cup. Quick, easy, and automatic. At this day and age, it’s shocking to know how few machines actually do all of these things. Enter The Hamilton Beach Single Serve Scoop Coffee Maker.

Of all the coffee makers I’ve reviewed here at The Coffee Concierge, this is the first single serve automatic drip coffee maker that actually requires ground coffee and not pods/discs/capsules.

I can already hear all of the sighs of relief. Plus, the 900+ reviews on Amazon indicate that this is a coffeemaker that certainly meets a gaping need. Or does it? Let’s find out!

The Review

The Hamilton Beach Single Serve Scoop Coffeemaker is a sleek single serve brewer that features a stainless steel scoop that doubles as a doser and filter basket. Just scoop your coffee, insert it directly into the machine, and begin to brew. From here, the HB Scoop promises to deliver a hot cup of coffee in under 2 minutes. Sound too good to be true? Maybe.

Please note: Although I am reviewing this top rated coffee maker, I have no experience using it. Instead, I summarize all of the most helpful reviews on this coffee maker from around the web. I do my best to make the reviews completely unbiased, making sure to cover both the positives and negatives of every coffee maker I review. Visit the about page to learn more…or feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns you may have.

Weak coffee…is there a solution?

One of the most frequently cited issues with the HB Scoop is its inability to make a flavorful cup of coffee. Hundreds have reviewers have reported weak coffee and have accordingly left the machine with a 1-star review. However (and this is a BIG however), there is a solution. By merely using the back of a spoon to tamp down your coffee grinds in the scoop, your coffee will likely go from weak to great-tasting. Sure, it’s a design flaw that the hot water can’t properly steep the coffee grounds without tamping, but this is a solution that seems to be foolproof.

As versatile as a single serve brewer gets

This coffeemaker really stands out in the single serve market for its versatility. You can use whatever coffee you want, at whatever grind, with whatever coffee to water ratio. These are some of the key things that impact the way your coffee tastes, folks. Another major component is the water temperature, and the HB Scoop delivers in most of the reported cases. The SCAA recommends 195-205˚F water temperature, and most reviewers reported temperatures from 192-203˚F. Not bad. Especially when you compare it to the lukewarm results that are typical of Keurig machines.

Plastic-tasting coffee? Or is there a solution?

While there weren’t an overwhelming number of reviewers to report plastic-tasting coffee, there were definitely enough to catch my attention. But there seems to be a feasible solution, as long as you are willing to take the risk if you do get stuck with a unit that produces this plastic taste. Basically, you soak your filters/scoops in hot water for 15 minutes, and then run 2 dummy cycles (with no coffee) to clean everything out. Seems that some have already given this solution their stamp of approval. Question is: are you willing to risk it?

The Ratings

I think that’s plenty of information on the pros and cons. Let’s get into the actual ratings now.

The Price

At $59, this is almost a knock out punch in the single serve auto drip coffeemaker market. You will be spending $100 and up for any of the Scoop’s competitors, so this is a great price.

Score: 4.5 stars

The Coffee Quality

It’s really tough to rate this category. We know that hundreds of people have reported weak coffee, but of those hundreds, how many have tried the solution described above? I’m going to give this a score of 3, but if you take the time to tamp down your coffee and experiment with different grinds, you could be getting very close to 5 stars here.

Score: 3 stars

The Coffee Maker Quality

Not too many reports of broken or malfunctioning units, but you have to ask why Hamilton Beach didn’t design this coffeemaker to deal with this weak coffee issue. I mean, how could they have honestly missed this during their trial runs?

Score: 3 stars

Ease of Use

No issues here. Scoop your coffee, insert into the brew head slot…and away we go.

Score: 5 stars

Cleaning Ease

Easy to take things apart and get where you need to when it comes to removing used coffee grounds and other potential grime.

Score: 5 stars

Durability

You can bet that it will last longer than your Keurig did. There were approximately 5 reviewers (of 900) who reported that their units stopped working after a few months time. I like those numbers, but it’s probably still too new to know how durable this coffeemaker really is.

Score: 4 stars

Appearance

I think it looks great. Lots of stainless steel. Compact. Tall and handsome.

Score: 5 stars

Brew Speed

You will have coffee in 2 minutes. That’s pretty much as fast as it gets. Still, that seems suspiciously quick for proper coffee extraction time.

Score: 5 stars

Versatility

As I said earlier, this is probably the most versatile coffeemaker of its class. Single serve coffeemakers simply don’t allow you to do as much as you should be able to do. The HB Scoop defies the status quo by eliminating the need for wasteful pods and cups of stale coffee.

Score: 4.5 stars

Final Thoughts

If you are in the market for a single serve coffeemaker, the Hamilton Beach Scoop deserves a very serious look. Aside from its flaws and quirks, it really stands out when being compared to the competition. If you like speedy brews, easy cleanup and operation, and beautiful design, this is a great coffee maker.

If you don’t like to grind your coffee or work with ground coffee to begin with, then this might not be right for you. It is also definitely not your best bet for the greatest tasting coffee at home, but I think you will get pretty good results as long as you use the right grind and don’t forget to tamp!

Have one? Let me know what you think!

Share Your Comments, Reviews, or Questions

While I collate reviews from all across the web when writing my own coffee maker reviews, my opinion in the end is only one opinion. For this reason, I encourage you to share your own review as well as any comments, questions, or disagreements you may have.

One final note: if you found this coffee maker review helpful and are considering making a purchase, please share the credit by clicking the “buy on amazon” link above. I will get a small commission if you do this, and would totally appreciate it. If not, no problem whatsoever!