Quills' Coffee - Ethiopia Konga

7.4

Acidity

10.0/10

Aftertaste

6.0/10

Aroma

8.0/10

Balance

9.0/10

Body

9.0/10

Complexity

7.0/10

Flavor

9.0/10

Forgiveness

7.0/10

Sweetness

9.0/10

Versatility

0.0/10

Pros

  • High sweetness
  • Very fruity

Cons

  • Weak aftertaste
  • Not very forgiving

This isn't the first Ethiopia Konga I'm reviewing, but it is the first coffee I'm reviewing from my Angels' Cup subscription. And just like the previous Konga, this one was quite delicious.

Since I only had 2.5 ounces to play with, I didn't get to do too much experimentation with brew methods, so this is going to be a quicker review. But I think you will come away with a feeling that Konga is a micro-region that can't be ignored in the coffee world.

About Konga Yirgacheffe

The Konga cooperative is one of 22 members of the Yirgacheffe Coffee Farmers Cooperative Union and consists of roughly 2000 farmers, according to Verve Coffee Roasters (Santa Cruz). The coffee cherries are wet-processed after being grown at 2100 masl.

Quills has slightly different information the Konga micro-region here.

Since this is a cooperative that keeps popping up this year, I hope to learn more about it in the future.

Video Review

First Brew and Tasting

In my first tasting I brewed with Quills' recommended brewing parameters noted in the Angels' Cup app. These parameters are:

  • Hario V60
  • 22 grams of coffee (the Konga, of course)
  • 360 grams of water at 205˚F
  • Grind: medium
  • Brew time: 3:10

Personally, I decided to ignore their grind recommendation of “medium” by going with something finer. My total brew time was 3:35.

Roast: Full city (medium-light)

Aroma: Milk chocolate, tea rose, black pepper, and strawberry.

Aroma (roaster): Lemon, peach, black tea, bread, and lavender.

So basically, I didn't pick up any of the same aromas Quills picked up on.

Flavor: Strawberry, pineapple, marshmallow, and grapefruit

Flavor (roaster): Prune, papaya, peach, garden peas, black tea, lavender, mandarin orange.

Again, no commonalities. But I had no issue with this because I really enjoyed this coffee. It was super sweet with high acidity. The body was light but pleasant.

Second Brew

My second brew was with the Kalita Wave. I used a higher brew ratio (accidentally):

  • 20 grams of coffee
  • 360 grams of water at 205˚F
  • Grind: coarse
  • Brew time: 3:30

Aroma: I didn't take notes on the aroma, but this is likely because it wasn't as pronounced this time around.

Flavor: Vanilla and grapefruit.

A bit more bitterness and a lot less complexity this time around. I definitely could have done better with this brew.

The Ratings

It's tough to rate a coffee when you don't get to brew with it a lot, but I think first impressions are still important, so here we go!

Acidity

High acidity that I didn't find to be sour at any point, even in my second brew with the Kalita Wave. Definitely one of the highlights of this coffee.

Score: 5

Aftertaste

The aftertaste was pretty mellow and frankly, not too memorable. If anything, the aftertaste was just a come-down from the fruit blast you are hit with on the initial sip.

Score: 3

Aroma

I can't seem to escape chocolate aromas, but this was an interesting one because of its complexity. Tea-rose, black pepper, and strawberry? Talk about being all over the place.

Score: 4

Balance

I found every cup to be well-balanced and never crossing the line towards bitter-land or sour-land.

Score: 4.5

Body

Light body, but very pleasant. No dryness. The mouthfeel was refreshing and appropriate for this coffee.

Score: 4.5

Complexity

Lots of fruity complexity, as well as a little bit of marshmallow in the mix. I didn't pick up nearly as much of the flavors the roastmaster picked up, but I was satisfied (on the first brew, at least).

Score: 3.5

Flavor

Really enjoyable flavors that worked nicely together.

Score: 4.5

Forgiveness

Even when I botched things a bit with my brew recipe on the Kalita Wave it was still a good cup of coffee. However, it was much harder picking up on the intricacies of the coffee.

The lack of the great things I found in brew #1, from brew #2, make me believe that this coffee isn't as forgiving as I thought.

Score: 3.5

Sweetness

If you get it right you'll be pleasantly surprised. This is a very sweet coffee.

Score: 4.5

Versatility

I can't really rate this category because I didn't brew across too many methods.

Score: n/a

Is this coffee for you?

If you haven't had too many light roast coffees with high acidity, I don't think I'd recommend starting with this one because it isn't really balanced out by darker flavor profiles like chocolate, smoke, or nuts.

If however, you are already accustomed to lighter roast profiles and want something that's at the pinnacle of fruity sweetness, definitely give this Konga a try.

I found it to be sweeter than Olympia's version, but they were definitely comparable.