Chemex 6 Cup Glass Coffee Maker Review

Chemex Coffeemaker Review

Table of Contents

Chemex 6-Cup Coffee Maker

$41.32
8

Appearance

10.0/10

Cleaning Ease

9.0/10

Coffee Quality

10.0/10

Design & Matterials

9.0/10

Durability

7.0/10

Ease of Use

6.0/10

Portability

5.0/10

Price

8.0/10

Pros

  • Beautiful design
  • Clean coffee
  • Easy-to-clean

Cons

  • Fragile
  • Expensive filters
  • Takes practice
  • Not convenient
  • Poor heat retenttion

Chemex Coffeemaker Review

Table of Contents

Quick Summary

The Chemex coffee maker is a popular pour-over coffee maker (and carafe) made from borosilicate glass.

Most models (including the 6-cup version I’ll be reviewing here today) have a wood collar and leather tie for safe-handling and aesthetics.

Who The Chemex is For

If you’re looking for a coffee maker that makes great coffee and looks great in just about any space, you really can’t go wrong with the Chemex.

Ideally, you’d also have some interest in the ritual of brewing coffee manually.

Finally, if you enjoy “clean” coffee with very little body, the Chemex is just about as good as it gets with its heavy duty paper filters, which are really the  secret sauce of this coffee maker. 

Who The Chemex is NOT For

If you’re looking for convenience, the Chemex is frankly not a good choice.

Brewing with a Chemex is all about the ritual of brewing coffee. If you don’t have time to actively pour the hot water on the ground coffee, you’ll likely find the Chemex burdensome. 

This is also a somewhat fragile coffee maker with relatively poor heat retention. So if you’re clumsy and/or looking to drink your coffee at piping hot temperatures, the Chemex will not be your best choice.

No products found.

Video Review

First Impressions

The first time I laid eyes on the Chemex coffee maker was in my friend’s apartment.

My initial reaction was confusion: “a decanter for coffee?”

Well, turns out that decanting has pretty much nothing to do with it, and that would make sense given that the longer you wait to drink your coffee, the colder it’s going to get.

When I tried the coffee I was definitely impressed. Very little bitterness and a nice rich flavor.

In comparison to my cheap plastic coffee filter cone at home, the Chemex seemed like a home run.

Chemex Models: Compared

Table could not be displayed.

The Chemex comes in two different styles, in a variety of different sizes.

In terms of style, you can either go with the “Classic”, which includes the wooden collar, or you can go with the all-glass style, which has a glass handle.

I imagine that most people are drawn to the classic style (I mean, it’s featured in the MoMA), but hey, to each their own.

In terms of size, you can choose anywhere between 3 cups and 10 cups of coffee. Keep in mind that the manufacturer defines a cup of coffee as 5 ounces of brewed coffee.

The Classic Chemex

Chemex Coffee Maker

The All-Glass Chemex

Chemex All-Glass Coffeemaker with Handle

Chemex Filters

As pretty as the Chemex is by itself, the truth is that its design has virtually no impact on your final cup of coffee.

Some coffee snobs may say otherwise, but I’d be surprised to get any evidence beyond the anecdotal.

Still, what most coffee enthusiasts will agree on is that the Chemex’s filters are the true secret sauce in what helps make the coffee taste great.

Of course, you’ll need to take care of some other important prerequisites before you start brewing great coffee, but the filters will definitely make a difference once the basics have been addressed.  

There are essentially 3 types of Chemex filters out there, each of which is made from different materials.

Let’s break down the differences.

Natural Chemex Paper Filters

Natural Chemex Filters

Natural Chemex filters are one of the two options Chemex owners have in terms of the paper filters that were designed specifically for the Chemex.

These filters are made from thick paper, and un-bleached.

While “natural” sounds appealing on the surface level, my experience with these filters has been anything but pleasant.

They impart a strong paper taste in your final cup of coffee and require ample pre-rinsing to mitigate this undesirable paper flavor in your final cup of coffee.

Classic Chemex Paper Filters

Classic Chemex Filter

In my opinion, the Classic Chemex paper filters are the truly *natural* choice.

These white paper filters are just as thick as the natural paper filters, but they impart no paper taste in your final cup of coffee.

To me, this is what makes them the winning choice for Chemex owners.

You can buy them either as pre-folded or circular, I recommend the latter for the slight edge in convenience.

Reusable Metal Filters

Able Kone Coffee Filter

Third-party manufacturers like Able Brewing have come along to create reusable metal filters designed specifically for the Chemex.

These are obviously the most economical choice in the long run, since you don’t have to continuously buy Chemex’s relatively expensive paper filters.

Reusable filters are also the most eco-friendly choice, since you’re not contributing to more trees being cut down just to filter your coffee.

With all that said, in my opinion you might as well not even buy a Chemex coffee maker to begin with if you’re not going to take advantage of the special filters that are made for this coffee maker.

With reusable metal filters, you’ll get a lot more coffee oils passing through into your final cup, which completely changes the flavor profile and body of the coffee.

This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but it’s more in tune with the coffee you would brew with a French Press.

Chemex Filters: Compared

Table could not be displayed.

How To Use The Chemex

Step 1: Add filter to Chemex and pre-rinse

If you’re using paper filters, you’ll especially want to pre-rinse your filters to eliminate any unwanted paper flavor in your final cup of coffee.

Regardless of the filter you use, adding some hot water in the beginning allows you to pre-heat the Chemex for better heat retention.

Don’t forget to dump the hot water in the sink before adding your ground coffee to the filter.

Step 2: Measure  coffee beans

I’m not going to shame you if you decide to use volume-based units of measurement, but ideally you’ll want to be using a gram scale to measure out your beans.

I usually weigh at least 30 grams for 2 cups of coffee. 

With a 6-cup Chemex you can probably go as high as 60 grams of coffee for the full 6 cups of coffee.

If you are using tablespoons to measure, 1 tablespoon per 6 ounces of water is a common rule to go by. I’d use at least 2 tablespoons.

For 6 cups of coffee, you’ll want about 5 tablespoons.

Step 3: Grind the coffee

An easy mistake to make when brewing coffee is to grind too coarsely or too finely for the brew method you’re using.

The Chemex thrives with a coarser grind. Specifically, a medium-fine grind.

Feel free to experiment though.

A brew time between 3 and 5 minutes is a good range to aim for. Grind coarser if too slow, grind finer if too fast.

Step 4: Add ground coffee to filter

With your Chemex sitting on your gram scale, add your ground coffee to the filter, level the bed of coffee with a few gentle shakes, then tare the scale.

You’re now ready to brew.

Step 5: Bloom/pre-infuse the ground coffee

Pour about twice the weight of your coffee, in water, slowly over the ground coffee, making sure to evenly saturate the entire bed of coffee.

Wait about 30 seconds before continuing on with the rest of the pour.

Step 6: Continue pouring the water in intervals

This final step is a pretty subjective one.

Some coffee pros will tell you to pour in evenly timed intervals until the total weight on your scale reaches about 15 times the ground coffee’s weight.

Others will tell you to basically do most of the pouring in just a couple of pours.

Honestly, the differences will likely be negligible for you.

Just make sure to evenly saturate the ground coffee with targeted pouring. You can also use a small spoon to mix the coffee slurry for a more predictable extraction. 

Step 7: Serve your coffee and enjoy!

I think you’ll have no problem with this step.

Chemex vs. The Competition

Table could not be displayed.

Ratings

I reviewed the Chemex across 8 different rating categories that I feel are most important to your typical coffee-lover. 

Let’s take a closer look at each.

Appearance

Did I mention that you can find the Chemex in the Museum of Modern Art?

Yeah, enough said.

Design & Materials

The design and materials are essentially flawless in the Chemex. 

I feel the need to pull a half-point for the simple reason that the Chemex is made of glass, which will always be fragile and not offer the best heat retention.

Ease of Use

While you don’t need to be a rocket scientist to brew with the Chemex, it does take practice.

This is a not a coffee maker that will magically make your coffee better.

It will however teach you (perhaps) what’s important in making better coffee.

Hint: it starts with the ingredients.

Coffee Quality

The coffee will only be as good as your ingredients (coffee beans and water) and grind.

If you get these parts right, you’ll set yourself for some of the best coffee one is able to brew.

The classic filters are truly magical in making a clean cup of coffee.

Cleaning Ease

Some people will complain about the Chemex being difficult to clean.

Personally, I think it’s one of the easiest coffee makers to clean, especially if you’re using the paper filters.

Usually a quick rinse with water does the trick.

A bottle brush can also be used for the tougher stains, but my personal favorite method is using Cafiza.

Portability

Oof.

While the Chemex is relatively compact, it is not really made to be travelled with.

If you do decide to travel with it, make sure you wrap it up in newspaper or bubble wrap before packing it into your suitcase.

Price

For a beautiful piece of art that makes good coffee, I think the price is fair.

This is especially subjective though.

Durability

This is the achilles heel of the Chemex.

While it has no electronic components that can break on you, it is still made of glass.

I still haven’t shattered mine after 5+ years of ownership (*knocks on wood*), but it can definitely happen to you if you’re not careful.

Final Thoughts

I’ve gone through a lot of coffe makers over the years, but the Chemex is still one of the few that remains in my regular rotation.

If you’re looking to get into Specialty Coffee at home, the Chemex is an excellent starting point.

Tried The Chemex? Leave a Review Below!

If you own a Chemx, I’d love to hear your thoughts. Please leave your comments, questions, or reviews below!

Last update on 2021-09-05 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

Share:

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
  • Our household has used a Chemex pot for many years and would not consider using anything else. It can make just about any but the cheapest coffee taste much better. Get yourself a Chemex and a kettle and you’ll never be sorry. The only other pot that rivals is a Cona vacuum pot.

    • Thanks for your comment, Ed!

      Yeah, I’d have to agree that the Chemex is one of the best coffeemakers out there. At least in the pour-over department. I think Hario’s also make great coffee manually, as does the AeroPress. Haven’t heard of the Cona but I’ll be sure to look into that one.

      Happy Holidays to you and your family!

  • chemex coffee maker is made in taiwan not the isa and the hand blown version in europe,but again not made in the isa

    • Hi,

      Direct quote from the Chemex website’s about page:

      “We are a family owned company with our headquarters located in Western Massachusetts. It is here that we manufacture the Chemex Coffeemakers, Chemex bonded filters, Handblown water kettle and Chemex accessories to be distributed worldwide.”

      Not sure where you were told these were made in Taiwan or Europe, but from all of the sources I’ve referred to, Massachusetts has been the answer.

  • I would have watched the whole video about the chemex, but no offense, it was painful to watch. Mono tone voice, slow speech, and took a long time to get the point across.

  • Table of Contents

    On Key

    Related Posts

    >