BUNN BT Velocity Brew (ThermoFresh) Coffeemaker Review

Table of Contents

Bunn BT Velocity Brew

7.7

Price

5.0/10

Coffee Quality

8.0/10

Coffee Maker Quality

8.0/10

Ease of Use

10.0/10

Cleaning Ease

9.0/10

Durability

9.0/10

Appearance

7.0/10

Brew Speed

10.0/10

Versatility

3.0/10

Pros

  • Fast brew: 10 cups in under 3 minutes
  • Great-tasting coffee
  • Easy to use
  • Thermal carafe

Cons

  • Leaky carafe*
  • Big footprint
  • Not ideal for 1-3 cups
  • Coffee brews when the lid closes, not when a flip is switched

Have a need for speed?

The Bunn BT Velocity Brew is all about a fast brew – designed to clock-in at under 3 minutes for 10 cups of coffee. For the heavy coffee drinking household or office, the Bunn BT Velocity Brew makes some very strong arguments for itself.

The Bunn Brand

Bunn introduced the world to the first automatic drip coffee maker back in 1963 according to Wikipedia. The brand has really become a staple in diners across the country, but it has also established itself as a major player in the home coffee making market in more recent years. Bunn also assembles many of there coffee makers right here in the USA, and this particular model is one of them.

The Review

If you are shopping around for a solid automatic drip coffee maker, you’ve started your search in the right direction by merely looking into a Bunn coffee maker. But how does this one stack up against the competition? Let’s find out.

Please note: Although I am reviewing this top rated coffee maker, I have no experience using it. Instead, I summarize all of the most helpful reviews on this coffee maker from around the web. I do my best to make the reviews completely unbiased, making sure to cover both the positives and negatives of every coffee maker I review. Visit the about page to learn more…or feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns you may have.

Leaky carafe: fact or fiction?

One of the most frequently cited issues with the Bunn BT Velocity Brew was the leaky carafe. Many users found it to be incredibly frustrating and practically impossible to pour a cup without spilling coffee all over the place. As it turns out however, there is a solution.

A reviewer noted that if you use Dawn dishwashing soap (yes, specifically Dawn) to clean the carafe spout, lid, and seal, the problem is miraculously solved. In fact, most people who ultimately tried this found that it resolved their carafe’s leakage. I only read one review that stated that this was an ineffective solution.

Why does this work? Well, over time, heavily-oiled coffees will leave their oils behind. In this case, these oils clog the spout and seal in a way that causes the carafe to leak.

A design flaw? Arguably. But you should be cleaning your coffee maker (and its components) quite frequently to begin with. I do find it strange though that Dawn is the only soap that is effective enough to take care of this.

Simplicity is the middle name

There are no fancy features with Bunn coffee makers. They make good, hot coffee very quickly, that’s it. There is no brew pause, no timer, no clock, and actually, no switch (more on this later). It really doesn’t get any easier to make a cup of coffee with an automatic drip coffee maker.

If simplicity isn’t your cup of tea (or Joe), you’d be better off looking elsewhere.

Overflowing filters?

Another frequently cited issue with the Bunn BT Velocity Brew was the overflowing coffee grounds from the filter basket. Some reviewers noted that this appears to mainly be an issue for those who use finely ground or decaffeinated coffee. While this may be true, it’s also important to note that Bunn filters tend to be taller than most auto-drip filters out there. So if you want to ensure that you don’t run into ground overflow, you should make sure you are using Bunn filters to reduce this risk.

Close the lid to brew

To me, one of the strangest things about this machine is that it begins to brew as soon as the water reservoir lid is closed. There is no switch of any sorts. Many people see this as a bad thing, and I tend to agree. Why? Because the coffee will brew even if there is no carafe in place. This could lead to a disastrous mess if one doesn’t know how to use the machine to begin with.

The Ratings

I think that’s enough details on some of this coffee makers pros and cons. Let’s break down each of the different ratings.

The Price

Bunn coffee makers are not cheap. At the time of writing, the BT Velocity Brew costs about $140 dollars. To me, this is teetering on the expensive side.

Score: 2.5 stars

The Coffee Quality

There weren’t too many claims that the coffee didn’t taste great. The main recurring issue with this machine when it comes to coffee quality is that many felt the coffee didn’t stay hot long enough, even with the pre-heated carafe. While this was a minority of reviewers, it’s still worth keeping in mind.

Score: 4 stars

The Coffee Maker Quality

It seems to be built pretty solidly, with a lot of stainless steel involved. With the exception of the finicky carafe (unclean), it seems to be a very good quality coffee maker. It also comes with a 3 year warranty, which ain’t too shabby.

Score: 4 stars

Ease of Use

Like most automatic drip coffee makers, there isn’t much process involved when brewing a cup of coffee with the Bunn BT Velocity Brew. Add water to the reservoir, a filter with coffee grounds to the filter basket, close the lid and go.

Score: 5 stars

Cleaning Ease

The machine comes with a cleaning rod, which may be a subtle suggestion to thoroughly clean the machine from time to time. This category would have a perfect score from me if it weren’t necessary to thoroughly clean the rim of the carafe with dawn dishwashing soap. This seems to be somewhat cumbersome, especially because alternative solutions are apparently ineffective.

Score: 4.5 stars

Durability

Bunn makes very durable coffee makers. Many users reported that their respective units have lasted 4 years or more. Of those who negatively reviewed the longevity of this coffee maker, 2 years was a frequent report for the coffee maker’s lifespan. To me, this seems pretty good, especially with a 3 year warranty.

Score: 4.5 stars

Appearance

Definitely not gorgeous, but also not ugly. The stainless steel looks good with the black.

Score: 3.5 stars

Brew Speed

It should get a 6. 10 cups of coffee in under 3 minutes (assuming your machine has been plugged in for 15 minutes). Yes, this coffee maker is designed to be plugged in at all times.

Score: 5 stars

Versatility

No brew pause, strength selector, serving size selector, or heating tray. But hey, it makes great quality coffee quickly. This in itself should offset the low versatility score.

Score: 1.5 stars

Available Colors

Black/Stainless steel.

Summary

Here’s who I recommend this coffee maker to:

  • A heavy coffee drinker or coffee-drinking household or office
  • Someone who values a very speedy brew
  • Someone who wants a machine that will last them for many years

Here’s who I don’t recommend this coffee maker to:

  • Someone who only wants to use fresh water in their coffee
  • Someone who doesn’t want to leave their machine plugged in all the time
  • Someone who only drinks a few cups a day (or is the only coffee drinker)

This machine offers pretty strong reliability at a pretty fair price for some pretty good coffee. If you give it a try, let me know what you think.

Share Your Comments, Reviews, or Questions

While we collate reviews from all across the web when writing our own coffee maker reviews, our opinion in the end is only one opinion. For this reason, we encourage you to share your own review as well as any comments, questions, or disagreements you may have.

Share:

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
  • Having owned ours for three months, would rate overall 4.5 stars.
    Only problem has been grounds overflow, but have changed the grind to solve this. Carafe keeps warm from 5am until 3pm coffe time. Warm…not hot. Have not experienced leakage
    Purchased mine for under $120 with coupon.

  • Okay! I’ve owned Bunn Thermofresh coffee makers for about 10 years.

    Leaks: Never had a pot leak. I’ve washed and not washed them for literally years and no leaks. They are, though, quite sensitive to lid positioning. The lid sets in and needs a quarter turn to line up with the spout. If the lid is not turned ALL THE WAY, the flow while pouring will be misaligned and coffee will go many places other than in your cup. Specifically, it’ll flow around the edge of the spout and down the front of the pot onto your shoes. Reposition the lid, problem vanishes. The only cleaning I do these days is a quick run around the inside of the carafe with dish brush about once a month, with whatever dishsoap I’m currently using. I don’t worry about the rim or do anything special there, just make sure the lid is seated properly and fully rotated to the locked position.

    Overflow: This is somehow related to water hardness, and possibly floating grounds, but I haven’t sorted all the details of that one. Very hard water causes funnel overflows. Maybe it doesn’t wet the grounds properly under the showerhead or something. However, there’s two different cures that both work. 1) Use reverse-osmosis filtered water. This will take most of the minerals out of the water. 2) Bunn can send you a lower-flow showerhead gizmo to replace the high-flow one. It increases the brew time by about a minute, but it keeps the funnel from overflowing no matter what water you use.

  • Table of Contents

    On Key

    Related Posts

    >