Atlas Coffee Club Review

Atlas Coffee Club Review

Table of Contents

Atlas Coffee Club

$14
8.7

Price

8.0/10

Coffee Quality

8.0/10

Coffee Variety

7.0/10

Packaging

10.0/10

User Experience

9.0/10

Customer Service

10.0/10

Shipping

9.0/10

Pros

  • Great coffee origin variety
  • Good quality coffee
  • Excellent user interface
  • Excellent customer service

Cons

  • Minimal coffee processing variety

Quick Summary

Pros

  • Unique coffee origins
  • Excellent user experience
  • Custom delivery schedule from 1-10 weeks
  • Excellent customer service
  • Coffee is roasted to-order
  • Rewards program

Cons

  • No blends
  • No roaster variety
  • Minimal processing method variety
  • No roast dates on coffee bags

What is Atlas Coffee Club?

Atlas Coffee Club is a coffee subscription service that delivers freshly roasted coffee from different regions of the world, directly to your doorstep.

Simply choose your preferred roast preferences, how much coffee you want to receive, how frequently you want the coffee delivered, and whether you want it ground or in whole bean form.

Atlas will then send you coffee from a new region of the world, with every delivery.

Who Atlas Coffee Club is For

If you prefer single-origin coffees over blends, Atlas Coffee Club could very well be the coffee subscription for you.

What sets Atlas apart from its closest competitors is that they offer one of the best user experiences of any coffee subscription I’ve reviewed to date.

Atlas also connects coffee-lovers with origins and micro-lots they may have not otherwise have had the opportunity to try while mixing in some of the more familiar coffee origins as well.

Who Atlas Coffee Club NOT For

If you prefer blends over single-origins, want roaster variety, or want to try coffee that was processed across a wider range of methods, Atlas Coffee Club is probably not for you.

Ultimately, it comes down to a little bit less variety in some areas that other coffee subscriptions shine.

Still, these criteria will matter more to some than others.

Ready to try Atlas Coffee Club?

Get $10 off your first delivery of Atlas Coffee Club by using the link below.

Video Review

The Ratings

For coffee subscription reviews, I rate the following categories on a 10-point scale:

  • Price
  • Coffee Quality
  • Coffee Variety
  • Packaging
  • User Experience
  • Customer Service
  • Customizability

Let’s break each rating category down one-by-one.

Price

A subscription with Atlas Coffee Club starts at $9 for a 6oz bag (excludes shipping).

For a standard 12oz bag, you’re looking at $14 + S&H.

Atlas Coffee Club Pricing

With shipping costs factored in, Atlas comes in at about $1.58 per ounce, which is quite competitive when comparing to other coffee clubs out there.

When all is said and done, this is a pretty good price.

Coffee Quality

Although none of the 4 coffees I received really wowed me, they were all good. 

With that said, I only received light and medium roast coffees, so I can’t really speak for the dark roasts.

Zambia Coffee from Atlas Coffee Club

Coffee Variety

I received coffee from a different origin with every shipment, so in terms of origin variety, Atlas Coffee Club hit the nail on the head.

The 4 regions I received coffee from were:

  • Malawi
  • Zambia
  • Colombia
  • Rwanda

Two of these regions (Malawi & Zambia) were completely new to me, so that was really cool.

Still, it’s important to note that Atlas is a single-roaster coffee subscription, meaning that all of the coffee you receive is roasted by Atlas themselves.

This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but because every roaster has its own styles, practices, equipment, and roast profiles, there will likely be differences between the same coffee roasted by two different roasters.

Atlas also only does single-origin coffee, so if you’re after blends, this isn’t gonna be the right coffee subscription for you.

All of the coffees I received were also processed using the washed method. I think this detracted from the overall complexity of the coffees I received, since I’m personally a huge fan of naturally processed coffees.

Packaging

Each bag of Atlas Coffee is delivered in a small white box, not unlike other coffee subscriptions I’ve reviewed.

Atlas Coffee Club Packaging

Inside the box, you’ll find a beautifully designed bag of coffee, each unique and inspired by the textile designs of the country the coffee comes from.

Each box also comes with a postcard of the country your coffee came from.

There is also another card with information about the country and its coffee-growing history, specs about how the coffee was grown and processed, tasting notes, a recommended brew method, and the roast level of the coffee.

My one issue with the packaging was that there is no roast date on the bag.

Yes, Atlas says that they roast the coffee fresh for every order, but it would still be nice to see a roast date on the bag.

User Experience

Atlas Coffee Club easily has one of the best user experiences of all of the coffee subscriptions I’ve reviewed to date.

You can easily update your roast preferences and delivery schedule from your online account. Pausing and canceling the subscription is also very straightforward with no hoops to jump through.

Customer Service

To be fair, I never was in a position where I actually needed help with my subscription, but here’s why I still think that Atlas Coffee Club offers 5-star customer service:

Communication

Every step of the experience is clearly communicated to the user. Atlas not only sends out an email receipt when an order has been received, but they also send an email when the coffee is shipped.

They also sent out a few additional “check-in” emails to make sure that I was happy with the service and the coffee.

Granted, these emails were automated, but a nice touch nonetheless.

Phone Support

It may seem trivial, but it’s actually rare for a coffee subscription service to offer phone support.

Major props to Atlas for making this an option for their customers to reach out.

The Verdict

Atlas Coffee Club is a solid coffee subscription in terms of value and overall user experience. If you’re the type of coffee drinker who typically returns to the same origins again and again, but is curious to explore coffee from other regions of the world, Atlas delivers.

If you’re looking for maximum variety and customizability, I’d still go with Mistobox.

If you’re more interested in developing your coffee palate while maximizing coffee variety, Angels’ Cup would get the nod from me.

Comparing Atlas

Interested in how Atlas Coffee Club stacks up against other coffee subscriptions I’ve reviewed?

Check out the table below:

Table could not be displayed.

Tried Atlas?

If you’ve tried Atlas Coffee Club of you’re currently subscribed as a regular, I’d love to hear what you think about it.

Please share your comments, reviews, or questions about Atlas Coffee Club below!

 

Affiliate & Free Product Disclosure

Please note: I received 4 shipments of Atlas Coffee in exchange for an honest review. I received no compensation outside of the product itself. Please also note that some of the items below contain affiliate links. This means that if you buy one of the items, at no additional cost to you, I will earn a commission on each sale. I only promote products or services that I have investigated and truly feel deliver value to you, regardless of the compensation I may receive. Please do not spend any money on these products unless you feel you need them or they will help you make better coffee at home.

Last update on 2021-09-05 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

Share:

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest

Table of Contents

On Key

Related Posts

>